Paris: The Ballon d’Or ceremony started at 7.30pm on Monday. The winners of both the men and women’s awards has been announced.

Lionel Messi has won a record sixth Ballon d’Or crown at the ceremony. The Barcelona star moved ahead of great rival Cristiano Ronaldo to take outright ownership of the record, seeing off Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk and Juventus’ Ronaldo.

Lionel Messi and Virgil van Dijk were among the favourites for the men’s award, while Megan Rapinoe favourite for the women’s.

Pic Credits: Twitter

On the other hand, United States World Cup icon Megan Rapinoe has won the women’s Ballon d’Or prize at an awards ceremony in Paris.

Rapinoe (34), succeeds Norway’s Ada Hegerberg, the inaugural winner of the women’s prize last year, after starring on and off the field as the US retained the World Cup in France in July.